Smart Campus Initiative

We develop smart and innovative services and business models on the “Bildungscampus” in Heilbronn.

The Bildungscampus in Heilbronn links various educational and research institutions in one place. In order to ideally promote learning and working on the campus and to offer a high level of comfort, the possibilities of digitalization are also to be used. To this end, the Fraunhofer IAO has launched the Smart Campus Initiative in 2018 together with Heilbronn University and supported by the Dieter Schwarz Foundation.

This uses the Bildungscampus as a real laboratory for the data-supported development and testing of smart and innovative services and business models. Within the protected framework of a semi-public space, solutions relevant to campus actors, business and public administration are worked on jointly using co-creative formats and methods.

News

210218_Einladungsflyer_Studierende (1) (2)

New workshops on workplace utilization at LIV take place on 4/28/2021 and 5/26/2021. Register now!

― CO-CREATIVE SERVICE DEVELOPMENT

The Smart Campus Initiative sees itself as a cross-institutional project platform through which students, staff, campus management, (utility) companies, and city and regional administrations work together on data-based services to improve campus and city life. With the help of co-creative formats and methods we support the actors in using the potential of data to develop new services, improve existing ones and build first prototypes. Co-creative means that the actors are strongly involved in the service development process and work together collaboratively.

― PILOTING ON THE CAMPUS

The solutions developed are then tested on campus and their added value scientifically analysed. The first step focuses on services that increase campus comfort. For example, we are currently working on the implementation of an AR application for better navigation on campus and on a model for forecasting waiting times in the canteen.

― TRANSMISSION TO CITY AND REGION

In the second step, utility services are considered which are relevant, for example, for an urban society. These solutions will be tested on campus under scientific supervision and, after successful pilot testing, transferred to urban areas. For example, after the test phase on campus, the model for forecasting waiting times in the canteen could in future be used in citizens’ offices in order to control public traffic more specifically.

― INFRASTRUCTURE

Via built-in sensors on the campus area, own (non-personal) data is collected and fed into an Open Data Portal. These are enriched with external data and made freely available to all stakeholders. A physical laboratory provides the optimal conditions for working on new prototypes, data-based services and business models in semester projects and workshops. Since a large part of the laboratory consists of mobile elements, it can also be set up outside the Bildungscampus and used by actors in the region.

Smart
Campus
Initiative

Wir entwickeln smarte und innovative Dienstleistungen und Geschäftsmodelle auf dem Bildungscampus in Heilbronn.

Der Bildungscampus in Heilbronn vernetzt verschiedene Bildungs- und Forschungseinrichtungen an einem Ort. Um das Lernen und Arbeiten auf dem Campus ideal zu fördern und einen hohen Komfort zu bieten, sollen auch die Möglichkeiten der Digitalisierung herangezogen werden. Zu diesem Zweck hat das Fraunhofer IAO gemeinsam mit der Hochschule Heilbronn und unterstützt durch die Dieter Schwarz Stiftung im Jahr 2018 die Smart Campus Initiative ins Leben gerufen.

Diese nutzt den Bildungscampus als Reallabor für die datengestützte Entwicklung und Erprobung smarter und innovativer Dienstleistungen und Geschäftsmodelle. Im geschützten Rahmen eines semi-öffentlichen Raums wird unter Einsatz von ko-kreativen Formaten und Methoden gemeinschaftlich an Lösungen gearbeitet, die sowohl für die Campus-Akteure, als auch Wirtschaft und öffentliche Verwaltungen relevant sind.

Ab Anfang November 2021 startet die Testphase für die Arbeitsplatzauslastung in der LIV. Sei dabei!

Mehr Infos im Flyer: UX-Testing-Phase

― KO-KREATIVE DIENSTLEISTUNGS-ENTWICKLUNG

Die Smart Campus Initiative versteht sich als eine Institutionen übergreifende Projektplattform, über die Studierende, Mitarbeitende, Campus-Management, (Versorgungs-)Unternehmen sowie Stadt- und Regionalverwaltungen gemeinsam an datengestützten Dienstleistungen zur Verbesserung des Campus- und Stadtlebens arbeiten. Mit Hilfe von ko-kreativen Formaten und Methoden unterstützen wir die Akteure darin, die Potenziale von Daten zu nutzen, um neue Services zu entwickeln, bestehende zu verbessern und erste Prototypen zu bauen. Ko-kreativ bedeutet, dass die Akteure im Entstehungsprozess der Dienstleistung stark miteingebunden werden und kollaborativ zusammenarbeiten.

― PILOTIERUNG AUF DEM CAMPUS

Die entwickelten Lösungen werden anschließend auf dem Campus erprobt und ihr Mehrwert wissenschaftlich analysiert. Im ersten Schritt stehen Services im Fokus, die den Campuskomfort erhöhen. Beispielsweise haben wir erfolgreich einen Prototypen für eine AR-Anwendung zur besseren Navigation auf dem Campusgelände entwickelt und arbeiten derzeit an einem Modell zur Prognose der Parkhausbelegung.

― ÜBERTRAGUNG AUF STADT UND REGION

Im zweiten Schritt werden Versorgungsdienste in den Blick genommen, die z.B. für eine Stadtgesellschaft relevant sind. Diese Lösungen werden unter wissenschaftlicher Begleitung auf dem Campus erprobt und nach erfolgreicher Pilotierung auf den Stadtraum übertragen. Beispielsweise könnte das Modell zur Prognose der Parkhausbelegung nach der Testphase als Informationsservice für Parkplatzsuchende in kommunalen Parkhäusern zum Einsatz kommen.

― INFRASTRUKTUR

Über verbaute Sensoren auf dem Campusgelände werden eigene (nicht-personenbezogene) Daten erhoben und in einem Dashboard visualisiert. Ein physisches Labor bietet die optimalen Bedingungen, um in Semesterprojekten und Workshops an neuen Prototypen, datenbasierten Services und Geschäftsmodellen zu arbeiten. Da ein großer Teil des Labors aus mobilen Elementen besteht, kann es auch außerhalb des Bildungscampus aufgebaut und für Veranstaltungen gebucht werden.